home >  categories >  ceremony venues >  ernest hemingway house and museum >  reviews

Ernest Hemingway House and Museum

Services:

Ceremony Venues

Key West, FL
 
Overall Rating
4.6 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
4.8/5.0
Responsiveness:
4.4/5.0
Professionalism:
4.7/5.0
Value for Cost:
4.8/5.0
Flexibility:
4.5/5.0
 
9 Total Reviews
 
Anonymous
Wedding: 4/14/13
4.9 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
4.5/5.0
Everything was absolutely perfect. It is such a beautiful backdrop for a wedding and Dave did a great job officiating. He was organized and knowledgeable. Also, it is right across the street from the Lighthouse Court Bed and Breakfast which has an amazing honeymoon suite. It worked out great for all our pre and post wedding events as well as getting ready the day of. Couldn't have worked out better!
Jillian
Wedding: 3/17/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
DAVE IS THE BEST EVER. He said to us early on "Your guests are going to leave here and say it's the best wedding they have ever been to." ABSOLUTELY. I didn't think there was any way to make the Heminway House any more beautiful, but Dave did it without even blinking an eye. He told me everything I needed to know and asked me questions about things I hadn't thought about, which made our day flawless. During the rehearsal, a friend said "expect 3 things to go wrong tomorrow and you will be fine." Well, my hair and makeup took longer than expected and a bridesmaid had to be sewn into her dress. Neither of which happened during the wedding, because there were no mistakes. Everything was so perfect and that is completely because of Dave (and Anna!) I can't thank you enough for making our day so beautiful. It would not have happened without you. BEST VALUE IN KEY WEST. Hands down. Thank you thank you...
Sarah
Wedding: 12/1/12
2.4 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
3.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
1.0/5.0
Professionalism:
3.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
4.0/5.0
Flexibility:
1.0/5.0
If I wasn't so in love with the property, I would have gotten married elsewhere. As a Key West local for 5+ years, the Hemingway House was my favorite spot so it was pretty much a given thats where our wedding was going to be. At first, Dave, the manager/on site planner, was very helpful. But once I told him that I hired my own planner and was using my own vendors, vendors he had never worked with before, he became difficult. He was extremely unresponsive to emails and phone calls and when I did finally reach him, he was rude and curt, to myself, my planners and vendors--who are all good friends of mine. His assistant Anna was wonderful though, picking up his slack. Dave would say "Ill take care of that" when he usually meant there was a fee associated with doing whatever that task was but wouldn't tell us. For example, there are lights hung over the lawn that are no joke up 360 days out of the year. Yet he charges a fee to put those lights up, saying that they are extra and did not tell us this until a week before our wedding. All in all, having a separate planner was essential because Dave just didnt cut it and my planner was a great go-between when Dave was difficult. My wedding turned out fabulous, so I cant complain too much. They cats did appear at night, even with loud music and a ton of people on the property. Oh and get a noise exemption so you can have music until midnight--another tidbit I learned from living here, not from Dave.
angelm1582
Wedding: 3/10/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Absolutely perfect location. The coordinator at the Hemingway was so helpful, he even let us sign our marriage license in the writing studio at Hemingway's desk. Gorgeous lights were strung above reception.
Erin Mac
Wedding: 3/3/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Dave Gonzales and the Hemingway Home & Museum were wonderful. It is such a unique and special location, people will never forget your event. The place is beautiful, and Dave was a wonderful officiant/planner. He has been doing this at the Hemingway Home for a while and knows exactly how to run an event. He even entertained the children during parts of the evening and he worked with all the vendors to make sure things went smoothly. Plus, how many places are there where you can have cats running around during your wedding? We loved it!
ssasseville
Wedding: 5/30/10
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Dave Gonzales, the event director, is amazing. He went above and beyond to make sure our wedding was perfect! He even helped out when I had issues with the caterer which he definitely didn't have to. He has a lot of experience with coordinating weddings at the Hemingway House that makes you feel a lot more comfortable and less stressed. The venue it's self is just breath taking. There is no need for decorations because the landscaping is immaculate and it definitely made for some AMAZING photos. Choosing the Hemingway House was THE BEST decision I made. Thinking about it now...I will always be able travel back (and so will my kids and my kid's kid's) and the house will always be there and look the same since it's a historical landmark! I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS VENUE TO ALL COUPLES GETTING MARRIED IN KEY WEST!
Samantha
Wedding: 5/22/10
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Beautiful venue for a magical outdoor evening ceremony and reception - dancing under the stars, cocktails and cigars on the poolside patio, and the architecture of the home as a perfect backdrop - couldn''t have been better! And Dave Gonzalez is a pleasure to work with - he takes care of everything!
CMK
Wedding: 7/3/09
4.5 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
4.0/5.0
Professionalism:
4.5/5.0
Value for Cost:
4.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum was an excellent venue for our ceremony and reception. Dave Gonzales was a pleasure to work with and the grounds looked amazing.
feminist11
Wedding: 5/26/07
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
A wonderful, hassle-free wedding venue! They took care of everything from the officiant to the flowers; everything was tasteful and lovely.
 
 
Find Ernest Hemingway House and Museum reviews from newlyweds in Fort Lauderdale that used Ernest Hemingway House and Museum for wedding Ceremony Venues services.